Translate Website
Call 020 8806 6048

ofstedbut parentpay-logo mapbut datebut emailbut

 
title

Term Dates

Term Dates

As a Jewish school, the term dates at Simon Marks differ slightly from non-denominational schools. The Education Regulations 1999 require all maintained schools to be open and educating their pupils for at least 380 sessions, the equivalent to 190 days.

Some Jewish festivals are where Jewish people are obliged to spend time in prayer and not to undertake ordinary work. On these days the school is closed and the school calendar sets out each year when these dates fall.

As we celebrate all Jewish festivals this means the term dates at Simon Marks may vary from other local schools in order to make up the statutory number of days.

Please note that special leave of absence during term time is only given in exceptional circumstances. Please inform all family and friends of these dates as holidays and family visits will not be authorised for absence added to the Jewish festival times above or for any other times. Please download leave of absence forms for details.

Please find important dates for each term in the tables below. Some times may be subject to slight change. More detailed information about specific and other events can be found in the calendar section of the website.

 

TERM DATES 2017/18

Autumn Term 2017

Date Day Event
 4th September Monday CPD (staff only)
 5th September Tuesday CPD (staff only)
 6th September Wednesday First day for all pupils
 21st/22nd September Thursday/Friday School Closed for Rosh Hashanah
 29th September Friday Finish 1:30pm Yom Kippur
 4th October Wednesday Finish 1:30pm Sukkot
 5th/6th October Thursday/Friday School Closed for Sukkot
 11th October Wednesday Finish 1:30pm Sukkot
 12th/13th October Thursday/Friday School Closed Shemini Atzeret/Simchat Torah
23rd – 27th October Monday – Friday Half Term
3rd November Friday Short Fridays Begin – Finish at 1:30pm
21st December Thursday End of Term – Finish at 1:30pm

Spring Term 2018

Date Day Event
 3rd January  Wednesday CPD (Staff Only)
 4th January Thursday Term Begins
 12th – 16th February Monday – Friday Half Term
 29th March Thursday End of Term – Finish at 1:30pm

Summer Term 2018

Date Day Event
 9th April Monday Term Begins
 7th May Monday May Day – School Closed
 21st May Monday Shavuot – School Closed
 28th May – 1st June Monday – Friday Half Term
 20th July  20th July End of Term – Finish at 1:30pm

CPD for staff – the school is closed to children on these days during 2017/18

Date Day Event
 4th September Monday CPD (staff only)
 5th September Tuesday CPD (staff only)
 3rd January Wednesday CPD (staff only)

Children are required to be in school for 190 days of the school year.  Please note that special leave of absence during term time is only given in exceptional circumstances.  Please inform all family and friends of these dates as holidays and family visits will not be authorised for absence added to the Jewish festival times above or for any other times.